Another Windy Dam Jam in Saylorville, 2011

The crew down in Iowa put on another successful year of the Saylorville Dam Jam last weekend, May 20-22. We had warm weather and fantastic winds on both days. It was a bit stormy overnight but that didn’t keep anyone from having a good time.

This event hosted the first full blown Kona Fleet for the MOWIND race series, and was also part of the US Windsurfing 2011 National Race Tour. Brad “Woody” Woodworth ultimately won the KONA event, followed by a close pack of Larry Miller in 2nd, Randy Howell in 3rd, Steve Callaway in 4th, and Pavel Matousek in 5th. Check out the scores to see how competitive the racing was.

A Fleet was won by Arden Anderson, followed by Peter Hartwich in 2nd, edging out Robin Shaw in 3rd on a tie breaker, Don Altmeyer in 4th, and Adam Anderson in 5th. Only two points separated second through fifth place.

Sport Fleet was won by Friedhelm Bruinhuaus, followed by Igor Tereshchenko in 2nd, and Matt Veldey in 3rd.

RESULTS: A Fleet –    KONA Fleet –    SPORT Fleet

We also have photos in two Picasa albums:

2011 Dam Jam


2011 Dam Jam Awards


You can also check out my blog at for more race details.

Arden, EL-11