Entries Tagged 'Uncategorized' ↓

Original Windsurfer Summer Series #4 Regatta

A group of One Design enthusiasts attended the 4th Original Windsurfer Summer Regatta Series on Saturday July 30, 2011 at Bowers Harbor in Traverse City, Michigan.

Original Windsurfers were supplied for all entrants along with regatta t-shirt, lunch provided by Boathouse Restaurant, BBQ dinner and wine supplied by J Henry Vineyards.

The morning brought no wind so several people went SUPing on Original Windsurfer boards with SUP paddles provided.

After lunch the wind picked up to 6-9 knots and quickly increased to 15 knots with gusts to 18 knots.  The men in the group declined to use harnesses and decided to hang tight and go “iron-man”. The lady of the group saddled up.  Six races were held on a triangle course; a long upwind to weather mark and 2 reaches back to start/finish line. There were some excellent swells and chop to surf on.

The race committee did not allow sailors to hit mark buoys and no pumping was allowed. By the sixth race all sailors had improved their start, upwind boat speed, tacks, jibes and mark rounding ability. For some it was their first time on an Original Windsurfer or their first time in 15 years.

BBQ on the beach was welcome and deserved, and trophies were awarded.

Standing: Randy Bass 1st place medium weights; Alison Rowe 1st place light weight; Paul Sandstrom 1st place heavy weights. Below: Dave Dalquist 3rd place medium weights; Ted Schweitzer 2nd place medium weights. Not pictured: Gary Kosch 3rd place heavy weights; Stephen Wiele 1st place B fleet/Sport fleet.

Visit the Original Windsurfer blog for regatta reports on previous Original Windsurfer Summer Series regattas.


2011 Door County Breeze Regatta Report

Steve and Jan Vande Corput did a wonderful job again this year hosting the Door County Breeze. New for 2011, the event is part of the US Windsurfing National Race Tour. 23 sailors turned out for the event, and top finishers were:

A Fleet

  1. Alex Monroe
  2. Arden Anderson
  3. Andy Gratton

Sport Fleet

  1. Marts Makstenicks
  2. Gatis Maksteniks
  3. Gary Lovrine


  1. Guntis Makstenicks
  2. Jan Hora
  3. Hedy Zaunmueller
  4. Esther Monroe

Follow these links for complete results:  A Fleet, Sport Fleet, Workshop

Racers prepare to head out


Pre-start jockeying

More pre-start maneuvering

Day One regatta report on Arden’s blog:

Thanks to all of the sponsors and people that helped out with the event.

Arden, EL-11

2011 Worthington Regatta Report

The 2011 Worthington Windsurfing and Unvarnished Music Festival took place June 11-12, with 37 sailors competing. This year included all of the hospitality and extra activities we have come to know and love in Worthington, a new Kona fleet, a “ducky drop” raffle during races, tactical race conditions, and top-notch trophies.

Top Finishers include:


  1. Andy Gratton
  2. Adam Anderson
  3. Arden Anderson

8.5 Limited

  1. Alex Monroe
  2. Magnus Zaunmueller
  3. Kevin Gratton


  1. Jeff Adamski
  2. Steve Callaway
  3. Larry Miller


  1. Niels Zaunmueller
  2. Gatis Makstenitsky
  3. Igor Tereshchenko


  1. Kale Johnson
  2. Esther Monroe
  3. Grayson Christenseu

Complete results are located HERE.

Picasa Album Courtesy of Steve Callaway

Jun 11, 2011


Many thanks to all of the people involved with running this wonderful event. The city of Worthington does a great job of embracing the windsurfing community and making this event unique.

Arden, EL-11

Additional reporting on my BLOG

Cattail Results 2011

Nice breezes and a hot sunny day made for a good afternoon of racing on Saturday June 4th in Toledo Ohio.   Windsurfers were start five in a senior sailing feet of about 30 boats total.    On a separate course a fleet of about thirty junior boats were battling it out.     With only seven entries the windsurfer start turnout was disappointing this year but six of them were Prodigy One Design kits so that made for some  great one design racing with just seconds between finishes.

The course was an I shape with  a start line on the port side of the RC boat and a finish line on the starboard side.     Windsurfers and  Catalina 22  did once around while Interlakes and Hobies did twice around.     Somehow it magically worked out that  we never waited more than about fifthteen minutes to get started again.    The first race saw 10-20 winds and last two saw 5-10 winds which were idea conditions to test both the high and low wind sailing skills of competitors.

The windsurfing winner was Glen Gardner from Grosse Pointe Windsurfing Club with three bullets.   Below Glen accepts his award ( a very nice gear bag).

Cattail Scores

Another Windy Dam Jam in Saylorville, 2011

The crew down in Iowa put on another successful year of the Saylorville Dam Jam last weekend, May 20-22. We had warm weather and fantastic winds on both days. It was a bit stormy overnight but that didn’t keep anyone from having a good time.

This event hosted the first full blown Kona Fleet for the MOWIND race series, and was also part of the US Windsurfing 2011 National Race Tour. Brad “Woody” Woodworth ultimately won the KONA event, followed by a close pack of Larry Miller in 2nd, Randy Howell in 3rd, Steve Callaway in 4th, and Pavel Matousek in 5th. Check out the scores to see how competitive the racing was.

A Fleet was won by Arden Anderson, followed by Peter Hartwich in 2nd, edging out Robin Shaw in 3rd on a tie breaker, Don Altmeyer in 4th, and Adam Anderson in 5th. Only two points separated second through fifth place.

Sport Fleet was won by Friedhelm Bruinhuaus, followed by Igor Tereshchenko in 2nd, and Matt Veldey in 3rd.

RESULTS: A Fleet –    KONA Fleet –    SPORT Fleet

We also have photos in two Picasa albums:

2011 Dam Jam


2011 Dam Jam Awards


You can also check out my blog at http://arden-el11.blogspot.com/2011_05_01_archive.html for more race details.

Arden, EL-11